Four New Baseball Champions to be Crowned this Weekend

Four New Baseball Champions to be Crowned this Weekend
Created 6/19/2014 8:25:55 PM

A whole new crop of teams make up the field of eight in this weekend's 48th Annual IHSAA Baseball State Finals at Victory Field in Indianapolis. 

For the first time, the Class 4A state championship game will lead off the weekend on Friday night at 7:30 pm ET with the Class A, 2A and 3A games contested at 1 pm ET, 4 pm ET and 7 pm ET, respectively, on Saturday. All four games will be played at the home of the Indianapolis Indians, the Triple‐A affiliate of the Pittsburgh Pirates. 

All four games will be televised live on Fox Sports Indiana and streamed at 

The prime time game on Friday night pits No. 8 Noblesville (27‐8) and Terre Haute North (25‐7). Noblesville won its first semistate last Saturday to earn its first appearance in the state finals. The Millers’ last state title came in boys golf in 1999. Terre Haute North ended its 31year drought last weekend as well. The Patriots may have pulled off the upset of the tournament when it took out topranked Indianapolis Cathedral for the regional title two weeks ago. 

The Class A final calls for No. 5 Rockville (28‐3) and No. 3 Shakamak (26‐6).

Rockville joins Noblesville as a first‐timer at the baseball finals. The Rox enter with 16 straight victories and have only allowed two runs in their five tournament games to this point. One of those came in a 3‐1 win over top‐ranked Frontier in the regional. Shakamak has reeled off 10 straight wins and 19 of their last 21 including a 1‐0 win over No. 4 Vincennes Rivet last Saturday. Shakamak will look to win its second baseball trophy to go along with its 2008 title. 

In Class 2A, No. 1 Wapahani (29‐4) meets No. 7 Evansville Mater Dei (24‐9). Wapahani also puts a 16‐game winning streak on the line with its most recent victory a 2‐1 win over No. 3 Lafayette Central Catholic. The game was decided on a passed ball which scored the winning run in the bottom of the seventh inning and ended the Knights’ state record 38‐game tournament win streak. Evansville Mater Dei returns to the finals for the second time in three years after eliminating two ranked teams – No. 2 South Spencer and No. 5 Austin ‐ along its tournament path. The Wildcats hope to add a second baseball championship to go with their 1999 title. 

Saturday’s night’s finale in Class 3A features No. 1 Andrean (30‐4) and No. 9 Gibson Southern (24‐7). High‐scoring Andrean has put up double figures in 18 of their 34 games this season including five of their six tourney games. In the tournament, they’ve outscored their opponents 75‐11 including four shortened by the 10-run rule. Niners coach Dave Pishkur, now in his 35th season in charge, ranks third in state history with 864 wins. Gibson Southern will play in the state finals for just the second time with its last appearance 20 years ago in the old single class format. The Titans defeated No. 4 Silver Creek in six innings for their first regional title since 1994 two weeks ago and join the school’s softball team in playing for a state championship on the diamond. That team finished as the 3A runner‐up last Saturday.

Friday, June 20 

Class 4A | Noblesville (27‐8) vs. Terre Haute North (25‐7) | 7:30 pm ET 

Saturday, June 21 

Class A | Rockville (28‐3) vs. Shakamak (26‐6) | 1 pm ET 

Class 2A | Wapahani (29‐4) vs. Evansville Mater Dei (23‐9) | 4 pm ET 

Class 3A | Andrean (30‐4) vs. Gibson Southern (24‐7) | 7 pm ET 


Defending State Champions in the Field 


Returning to State Finals from 2013 


Former State Champions in the Field 

4A: Terre Haute North 1974. 

3A: Andrean 2005, 2009, 2010. 

2A: Evansville Mater Dei 1999. 

A: Shakamak 2008. 

First‐Time Participants in the State Finals 

4A: Noblesville 

1A: Rockville

There is no comment.
Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement
Copyright 2017 © RRSN - Regional Radio Sports Network